Welcome to Booksio, where 10% of every book purchase goes to a charity you choose.Welcome to Booksio, where 10% of every book purchase goes to a charity you choose.

The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

Free
"This rollicking romance entrapped me! True in its detail and its scope, it is amusing yet heart-breaking." --Ian McKellen Perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and TJ Klune, this humorous, life-affirming, and charmingly wise novel tells the story of how the forced retirement of a shy, closeted postman in... Read More

Audiobooks are available immediately after purchase! Please download our Booksio Reader App and log in to begin reading! Booksio Audiobooks are not compatible with Kindle, Apple Books, or other proprietary devices.

Digital books are available immediately after purchase! Please download our Booksio Reader App and log in to begin reading! Booksio digital books are not compatible with Kindle, Apple Books, or other proprietary devices.

The first issue will arrive as soon as the next issue of the magazine is released. Please be patient, this might take 8-16 weeks for some titles! Order information is shared with the publisher directly who processes the subscription.

Your first issue will arrive in your email inbox as soon as the next issue of your magazine is released. Please remember to check your spam folder, as your instructions for accessing your digital subscription will come directly from our digital magazine partner.

Paperback books are processed by our warehouse. Please allow for 3-5 business days for in-stock books to be shipped and received.

Physical books usually arrive within 2-5 days, subject to availability.

Physical books usually arrive within 2-5 days, subject to availability.

description
"This rollicking romance entrapped me! True in its detail and its scope, it is amusing yet heart-breaking." --Ian McKellen

Perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and TJ Klune, this humorous, life-affirming, and charmingly wise novel tells the story of how the forced retirement of a shy, closeted postman in northern England creates a second chance with his lost love, as he learns to embrace his true self, connect with his community, and finally experience his life's great adventure...

Indie Next List Selection Library Reads Selection

Every day, Albert Entwistle makes his way through the streets of his small English town, delivering letters and parcels and returning greetings with a quick wave and a "how do?" Everyone on his route knows Albert, or thinks they do--a man of quiet routines, content to live alone with his cat, Gracie.

Three months before his sixty-fifth birthday, Albert receives a letter from the Royal Mail thanking him for decades of service and stating that he is being forced into retirement. At once, Albert's simple life unravels. Without the work that fills his days, what will he do? He has no friends, family, or hobbies--just a past he never speaks of, and a lost love that fills him with regret. And so, rather than continue his lonely existence, Albert forms a brave plan to start truly living, to be honest about who he is . . . and to find George, the man with whom he spent one perfect spring and summer long ago.

One painful yet exhilarating step at a time, Albert begins searching for George and revealing his story to those around him. As he does, something extraordinary happens. Albert finds unlikely allies, new friends, and the courage to help others--even as he seeks the happiness he's always denied himself.

Beautifully written, funny, and wise, The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle is a book to fall in love with and to be inspired by, one that proves it is never too late to live, to hope, and to love.

A Note from Matt Cain, the author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

"One of the things that inspired me to write this novel was all the joy I felt at seeing gay men like myself being embraced by British society. I think you'd be hard-pushed to find any other minority community in the UK that was as hated, feared and vilified as gay men were fifty years ago and is now as widely celebrated and loved. Acceptance of gay men has become a touchstone of British values within less than a decade, something that even the most optimistic commentators couldn't have predicted. I wanted to write a book that would celebrate this. And I sincerely hope The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle makes its readers feel good about themselves and the part they've played in bringing about this extraordinary social shift." --Matt Cain

DETAILS
More Information
Author Matt Cain
Language Code eng
Publication Date May 30, 2022
PRODUCT REVIEW

SUBSCRIBE NEWSLETTER

Sign Up for Special Promotions

Have you signed up yet? Subscribe to our newsletter and we’ll keep you up-to-date on all of your favorite

authors, charities, books and more. So don’t wait, sign up today!