Welcome to Booksio, where 10% of every book purchase goes to a charity you choose.Welcome to Booksio, where 10% of every book purchase goes to a charity you choose.

How High We Go in the Dark

$14.26 - $29.99
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE - ROXANE GAY'S AUDACIOUS BOOK CLUB PICK Shortlisted for the The Ursula K. Le Guin Prize for FictionMoving and thought-provoking . . . offering psychological insights in lyrical prose while seriously exploring speculative conceits. -- New York Times Book ReviewHaunting... Read More

Audiobooks are available immediately after purchase! Please download our Booksio Reader App and log in to begin reading! Booksio Audiobooks are not compatible with Kindle, Apple Books, or other proprietary devices.

Digital books are available immediately after purchase! Please download our Booksio Reader App and log in to begin reading! Booksio digital books are not compatible with Kindle, Apple Books, or other proprietary devices.

The first issue will arrive as soon as the next issue of the magazine is released. Please be patient, this might take 8-16 weeks for some titles! Order information is shared with the publisher directly who processes the subscription.

Your first issue will arrive in your email inbox as soon as the next issue of your magazine is released. Please remember to check your spam folder, as your instructions for accessing your digital subscription will come directly from our digital magazine partner.

Paperback books are processed by our warehouse. Please allow for 3-5 business days for in-stock books to be shipped and received.

Physical books usually arrive within 2-5 days, subject to availability.

Physical books usually arrive within 2-5 days, subject to availability.

description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER - NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE - ROXANE GAY'S AUDACIOUS BOOK CLUB PICK Shortlisted for the The Ursula K. Le Guin Prize for Fiction

Moving and thought-provoking . . . offering psychological insights in lyrical prose while seriously exploring speculative conceits. -- New York Times Book Review

Haunting and luminous . . . Beautiful and lucid science fiction. An astonishing debut. -- Alan Moore, creator of Watchmen and V for Vendetta

Recommended by New York Times Book Review - Los Angeles Times - NPR - Wall Street Journal - Entertainment Weekly - Esquire - Good Housekeeping - NBC News - Buzzfeed - Business Insider - Bustle - Goodreads - The Millions - The Philadelphia Inquirer - Minneapolis Star-Tribune - San Francisco Chronicle - The Guardian - PopSugar - Literary Hub - and many more!

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague--a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice.

In 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika Crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus.

Once unleashed, the Arctic plague will reshape life on Earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects--a pig--develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet.

From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resilience of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

Epic . . . Sequoia Nagamatsu is a writer whose imagination is matched only by his compassion, the kind we need to light our way through the dark. -- Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

Wondrous, and not just in the feats of imagination, which are so numerous it makes me dizzy to recall them, but also in the humanity and tenderness with which Sequoia Nagamatsu helps us navigate this landscape. . . . This is a truly amazing book, one to keep close as we imagine the uncertain future. -- Kevin Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Nothing to See Here

DETAILS
More Information
Author Sequoia Nagamatsu
Language Code eng
Publication Date Jan 9, 2023
PRODUCT REVIEW

SUBSCRIBE NEWSLETTER

Sign Up for Special Promotions

Have you signed up yet? Subscribe to our newsletter and we’ll keep you up-to-date on all of your favorite

authors, charities, books and more. So don’t wait, sign up today!